The Art of Graceful Acceptance

I rolled out of bed this morning, and I thought I heard the doorbell ring, Amma walk in, the pots and pans come out, the neighborhood vegetable seller call out to us for fresh papaya, the car honking: and I was late as usual, the lady upstairs calling out to her grandchildren, and the sound of the water-pump kick in.  On the street, I thought I saw Bonomalla, that horrid house-help who never like me much. I almost smiled at her…

How terribly disoriented I am. Lost amidst worlds, and people, and dreams…and reality. But, if my troubled mind has taught me one thing, it is this: the art of graceful acceptance.

And, so every unsavory email, and every time the traffic snares, and every time I watch an old man’s breathing become heavy, and every time the day gathers dust, and the little girl squabbles, and my heart is filled with an overwhelming guilt, and I cannot phone in at the end of a difficult day, and I want to change what I said that summer, and go back and be a bigger me…

I concede. I accept the now, the what is, the what I never know will be.

The art of gracefully accepting all that comes away. Without anger, and without doubt, and most of all without worry.

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Art of Graceful Acceptance

  1. Maybe not so much as ‘lost amidst worlds’ as straddling simultaneous worlds. Just maybe.

    At times, to ‘accept’ is to not pursue.

Leave a Reply

